The concept of a Trinity playing a central role in the evolution of humans exists in eastern and western scriptures alike, though in different forms. While Judeo-Christian traditions describe it as the Father, Son and the Holy Spirit, Hindu traditions describe it as Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh as well as three Gunas, Sattva, Rajas and Tamas. Numerous other interpretations exist to explain the concept of trinity. Is there scope for more?

What if the trinity described the evolution of human brain?

The evolution of the brain of humans is summarized as:

Modern human brains are composed of many structures, each of which performs a specific set of tasks.  However, all of these structures can be categorized into three parts, or evolutionary steps, of the brain.  The first part is known as the reptilian brain, which is the portion that we share with all the other vertebrates.  This part of the brain controls instincts and all of the tasks required to keep us alive, such as breathing and temperature regulation.  The second part of the brain is known as the mammalian brain, which, as the name suggests, is the portion of the brain that we share with all other mammals.  This part of the brain introduced three major structures, which are the hypothalamus, the hippocampus, and the amygdala.  The hypothalamus regulates fluid balance, internal body temperature, food intake, and sexual drive; the hippocampus is involved in forming new memories and creating mental maps of surrounding environment; and the amygdala is responsible for the feeling and expression of fear and anger.  The third part of the brain is known as the human brain, which is the most-recent addition and defines what it is to be human.  This part of the brain introduced what is known as the cortex, which is a coat of gray matter that covers the outer portions of the brain.  The cortex accounts for approximately 85% of brain mass and contains wrinkle-like folds all around to increase its surface area.  The cortex is split into four lobes, which are further divided into two hemispheres. The four lobes are known as the frontal, the parietal, the occipital, and the temporal lobe. 

So, when one hears alchemists proclaiming one becoming two, two becoming three and out of the third comes one as the fourth (Axiom of Maria), or the eastern concepts of circle divided first into three and then into four, could they be describing the evolution of human brain?

Views: 555

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

The Universe is ordered ... singularity or one, duality, Trinity ... the physical world of 4, the change of 5, the wisdom of 6, the consciousness of 7, the infinity of 8, the divinity of 9 will always keep repeating itself until we recognize how we are inescapably tied to that Divine order; Order is Law.  As humans realize all these things, the intellectual side of us creates many variations of the underlying order, and so we see it expressed always; we have to recognize we are responding to a kind of impuse or influence that is trying to stear us in the right direction, regardless what words we want to use to describe 3 or Trinity.  The fact that there is so much corrolation of all belief systems suggests to me that we are all, in whatever way we can, trying to ride God's Rollar Coaster.



Search Theosophy.Net!


What to do...

Join Theosophy.Net Blogs Forum Live Chat Invite Facebook Facebook Group

A New View of Theosophy


Theosophy References

Wiki Characteristics History Spirituality Esotericism Mysticism RotR ToS

Our Friends

© 2022   Created by Theosophy Network.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service